Men of Galilee…

Yesterday, as I fed Luke his bottle, he began fussing and protesting. I tried to calm him and convince him the bottle was his friend and food would sustain him, but he would have none of it. I resorted to the same trick I use to bring peace to Mary, Gregorian Chant.

Four years ago, some church friends and I approached our priest and proposed the founding of a Gregorian Chant choir at the Cathedral. He obliged and fostered the eventual return of Gregorian Chant to “pride of place”. Throughout the four years, I have learned many chants, one of my favorites being the Introit for the Feast of the Ascension, Viri Galilaei, which I quickly employed to my current feeding predicament. As the first three notes flowed, Luke ceased and fixed his gaze directly into my eyes, accepting his bottle with no reservation. After a few repetitions of Viri Galilaei, I added Quasi modo* and Regina Caeli, laetare to the rotation. I sang to him for forty minutes until his bottle was empty.

 

**Quasi modo is an appropriate chant for feeding infants.  The translation is thus: “As newborn babes, alleluia, long for pure spiritual milk, alleluia, alleluia, alleluia.  Rejoice in honour of God our helper; shout for joy to the God of Jacob.”

4 thoughts on “Men of Galilee…

  1. I sang to my daughter with PWS when she was an infant. The nurses told me not to because they said it would agitate her. She loves music still, singing and dancing. I just did what I thought was right. I am so happy for your family.

  2. Wonderful, heartwarming story! I am a mother of a child that was diagnosed with PWS at 4 weeks old. My son Reagan is now eight years old and doing quite well. I remember when Baby Luke was just 4 months old and was put up for adoption. I feel in love with him the moment I saw those beautiful eyes! I have never stopped thinking of him and praying that he would find parents that would love him and care for him, I am bursting with happiness that he has found both of you!

Leave a Reply

