Happy New Year!

I usually set some resolutions for the New Year but I tend to fizzle in my commitments as the year progresses.  I want this this year to be different.  My life and the life and dynamic of my family has significantly changed within the past two months with our newest addition, Luke!  Reflecting on what I want this next year to look like for me, I came across a section in a book that reminds me of what’s most important:

“Clearly God places in the hands of parents…the responsibility for teaching their children to love God and obey His Word.  And as parents we have been specifically empowered by God to pass on His commandments from generation to generation.”

I’m going to try my hardest to stick with my wishes to exercise daily, read more, take my days a little slower to soak up all the beauty around me and  try to get more SLEEP…but I CANNOT fail in my responsibility as a mother whose #1 goal is to pass on the Faith to my kids.  My children could grow up to be very smart, athletic, rich, popular, etc…but if I have failed to instill in them the importance of faith and love of God and neighbor I have failed them in the biggest way possible.  I want to be able to stand in front of my Maker when my time comes and say that I did my best to point my children towards Heaven.

So of all the things on my wish list of things to work on, the most important for me is to not just be a good mother but a godly mother.

3 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. wow. a friend I nanny for has two little girls, younges has prader-willi syn. so I was researching it since about 2 am day after this post. She mentioned to me that their is a baby up for adoption in our area and well I am curious. mentioned to my husband he ws very sure this is a God thing and we have to actively pursue it. This blog you only posted yesterday is confirmation to me! I am writing my thesis on the role of parents in spiritual formation in the Christian Home. Your Blog Sums it up! Prayers more parents leave faith footprints!

  2. Your are such a Godly women & this will be passed on to your children. Look at us our children have learned the love of God & neighbor and we are so proudl of each & every one of you. We thank God for our blessings everyday.

Leave a Reply

